Annatar sketches

I found some old pencil sketches from when I started working on Tengwar Annatar Italic (about 2003):

Lambe:

If I remember correctly, I had made an enlarged copy of Tolkien’s ring inscription (at an x-height of about 4 cm), and then I calqued selected parts of it, in an attempt to get an average lúva shape:

Note that I made these sketches primarily to simply get a clearer conception of what I wanted to achieve: I did not import them into a font editor and trace them there. Instead, the actual digitization was made largely from scratch, with at most some manual measurements in the sketches. More on this in a forthcoming post.

Leave a Reply

